Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The game plan: Why They March and Protest

The most recent racially charged drama involves a white officer who cursed, pulled his weapon and arrested a teenage girl. The media limits its report and discussion to these facts, as captured on a video. There are facts that the media will not discuss or even include in their reports.

  1. Officers received a call to a large disturbance at a private pool.
  2. Before the call, A DJ setup in a public space next to the private pool in the neighborhood and played loud explicit (F-bomb) music for multiple hours (it is unclear if he was invited by a resident as no one has claimed responsibility).
  3. The DJ was tweeting out invites to a “pool party” for $15 (obviously unauthorized by the neighborhood).
  4. The teens began fighting with each other and pushing their way into the private pool. Some were jumping the fence. The security guard was accosted when he tried to stop the beginnings of this mob scene.
  5. Some residents tried to settle things down. The teens started yelling racial slurs at the residents and started assaulting people and property (throwing bottles at cars and attacking a mother at the private pool with three young children).
  6. The first officer on the scene was by himself. By that time, the party had grown to a large, aggressive crowd. As the officer arrived, many teens started running through the neighborhood. Many of the teens were being very aggressive and yelling at the officers as more arrived.

Today, in another city, protestors are camped out in front of the mayor's house to protest the results of an investigation into the death of a black boy who was running around waiving a gun that turned out not to be a real gun. By the way, the investigation is not even complete and the protesters know that the mayor is out of state.

The Ferguson Missouri protestors are demanding the pay they were promised by protest organizers.

So what is the game plan?

For politicians and community organizers the game plan is to gain publicity and move a step up the ladder.

For Blacks it is the possibility of getting huge payouts in the form of reparations for injustices done in the recent past. (Their original attempt at reparations for injustices up to the Civil War went nowhere).

For the media it is viewership, readership and a larger radio audience.

The biggest losers will not be law enforcement, although individual law enforcement officers will be sacrificed to mob justice (or the mobs demand for justice). The biggest losers will be the descent and hard-working Black Americans that are trying to escape the ghettos. The biggest losers will be Black children who will grow up believing that they are victims.

Monday, June 8, 2015

What Was Not in the Video (and what the media fails to report)

What was not in the video!

A DJ setup in a public space next to the private pool in the neighborhood on Friday and played loud explicit (F-bomb) music for multiple hours (it is unclear if he was invited by a resident as no one has claimed responsibility). The teenagers (both black and white) were being brought into the neighborhood by the carload because the DJ was tweeting out invites to a “pool party” for $15 (obviously unauthorized by the neighborhood). The teens began fighting with each other and pushing their way into the private pool. Some were jumping the fence. The security guard was accosted when he tried to stop the beginnings of this mob scene.

Some residents tried to settle things down. The teens started yelling racial slurs at the residents and started assaulting people and property (throwing bottles at cars and attacking a mother at the private pool with three young children). The first officer on the scene was by himself. By that time, the party had grown to a large, aggressive crowd. As the officer arrived, many teens started running through the neighborhood. Many of the teens were being very aggressive and yelling at the officers as more arrived.

This was a very dangerous situation for the officers and the teens and residents.
The news media has refused to report the neighborhood’s side of this story. The video being distributed is only a very small segment of what happened. This information being distributed by the media and others is extremely distorted. Imagine the officer feeling so overwhelmed by the crowd that he drew his gun. He also used profanity.

The problem with police officers is in the recruiting process: they hire human beings with the same fears that humans tend to have and we expect them to be Mother Theresa. I would much rather know that an officer let his frustration and fear out by using profanity and I doubt that any of these teenagers learned any new profanity from the officer.

By the way, on Sunday a far left liberal group (know as The Marxist, Maoist Collective) posted the home address and phone number of McKinney officer Eric Casebolt online.

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Baltimore - One of the Finest City Police Departments in the Nation

The Police Union and the Fraternal Order of Police should hold press conferences every week and insist that the mayor and states attorney step down. Until that time, the working cops should simply take reports. The Union and FOP should emphasize that businesses are fleeing the city and new businesses, conventions and tourists should stay out of Baltimore.

Why are both representatives of Baltimore Police afraid to go head-to-head with the Mayor? There is the unspoken threat that the city will refuse either group to use payroll deductions for dues paying members. This threat has existed for decades. Should that occur they should sue the city and decide the issue once and for all.

Crime Rates have fallen over the past several yeas and the experts cannot explain why because their ‘expert’ opinion has consistently been that crime rises because of unemployment and poverty. During the recent period of high unemployment and increased poverty, crime went down. How inconvenient for the liberal experts!

Experts ignore the constant hard work of police officers, as they used zero tolerance; neighborhood oriented policing and crime analysis to determine police deployment. The use of tactical teams and bicycle squads and flex squads to jump out on known drug corners and open-air drug markets not only deters the illegal sale of narcotics, but they also affect street crime. The fact that hard working proactive police work has driven crime down does not fit the liberal expert narrative.

A simple fact is that when the police arrest someone after a crime has been committed, at least one crime was already committed. When police deter someone from committing a crime because the criminal fears the police will suddenly appear, crime goes down.

If only the Baltimore Police would demand that the States Attorney and Mayor resign and then insist that the City Council publicly support the police and ask for a zero tolerance policy in high crime neighborhoods, the Baltimore Police might start a national trend.

Racism and brutality should never be tolerated and allegations should be thoroughly investigated – as they are in Baltimore. The Baltimore City Police Department’s Internal Investigation Division is unrelenting in their investigations. Many officers are cleared of the accusation bought against them but are still hammered for ‘conduct not alleged’. The Baltimore Police Command Staff is a meat grinder when it comes to crushing a working police officer.

Businesses need an ironclad guarantee from a new mayor and a new States Attorney that future looters, arsonists and mobs will be crushed. The National Guard should never respond to a riot and be told to just stand and watch criminals destroy and burn. A new mayor and States Attorney that publicly announce their support of strong police actions are needed for Baltimore to keep the few remaining business in Baltimore and encourage others to establish a business in ‘Charm City’.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Police - Waco Texas Biker Fight - Blame the Cops

The biker gangs fought each-other and the police. Now here is the reality.
When three rival gangs are fighting with chains, knives and brass knuckles the surrounding police are not going to jump into the melee. News reports state that the bikers shot at police and that the police shot at the bikers. Officers arrested 170-people and nine people (presumably bikers) were killed. 18 others were wounded.

The morning after this gang fight, NPR and 'experts' spoke on the air. The first criticism about the police response was that they should have done more to prevent the fight and been pro-active. Relax. This criticism will soon change. Most, if not all of the dead bikers were probably shot by the police. The new criticism will be that the police started the gun-fight and killed these unarmed men. If only those mean only police officers would have blew kisses at the bikers and did their part to make them feel loved! After-all, most of these gang members join because they feel unloved and are in need of some form of family. How stupid can the police be?

Reality: these biker gangs work as hit men for other organized crime groups. These bikers transport and sell coke, meth and other assorted drugs. Gee, is it possible they work for and with the Mexican cartels? Nahh, they might ride in Texas near the border but they would never do such a bad thing.

By the end of this week the blame game will focus on the police.

I don't know why the police don't 'get it'. It is very simple. Be nice. Meet fists, knives and guns with a smile and love. Never, under any circumstance, be proactive AND don't wait until a crime occurs - prevent it. Never, initiate any contact with a black male. Prevent the murders and rapes in black ghettos. It should be easy because the victims and witnesses agree that the suspects are black

To be a police officer today seems like such a stress-free and happy place.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Are Closed Minds Best for American?

Are Closed Minds Best for America?

We are a passionate people. Passion can be good, but unbridled passion needs to be tempered. Apathy never got anyone anywhere. But a relentless, closed minded passion can also become a great weakness, a powerful and crippling deficiency that goes misunderstood, or worse, unacknowledged by those who are drained by it.
One can be certain of their beliefs and still be wise enough to explore opposing beliefs. We can often find truth and ideas we have not considered by honestly considering opposing ideas and positions. The exact opposite is true if we only consider opinions that match our own views. Yet, this seems to be exactly what many citizens choose to do. How can a closed minded population be what is best for America?
Believing what is said on MSNBC or FOX News without even checking the facts leads to this closed mindedness. Imagine that we don’t even bother to check the facts. A disturbing question arises when considering our choice of news sources. Do we choose our source because our own beliefs, prejudices ad opinions are supported by a particular news program or talk radio show?
To a large degree, we have become a closed-minded citizenry and a polarized society. There has always been a majority and minority group in congress. For hundreds of years opposing political parties have managed to compromise and work together to pass legislation that the serving president would sign. Today, we seem to be moving into a new type of congress; one where the majority party and the minority party simply demand ‘my way or the highway’.

Congressional gridlock is one of the casualties of our closed-minds. Surely, most beliefs and opinions are not so perfect that improvement is impossible. Reasonable people can differ and can compromise. Can any relationship succeed without compromise? Imagine a marriage without compromise. Two people joined for life would have to have the exact same beliefs throughout the duration of a lifetime. (Yes, I know that most marriages do not last a lifetime. I suspect part of the problem may be a lack of compromise).
Before we can even consider compromise, we must be willing to listen with the intent of learning. Most of us only hesitate to speak until the other party finishes describing their beliefs. In other words, we are polite and do not interrupt, but instead of listening we are formulating our reply[1].
Hot button topics like illegal immigration and the Affordable Care Act bring out the worst in us. Just using the phrases ‘illegal immigration’ and the ‘Affordable Care Act’ are enough to set some people off. They insist we must use the phrases ‘illegal alien’ and ‘Obamacare’ when explaining our opinions[2].  How can we be open-minded if the use of a simple phrase or term creates such hostility? I am not writing about curse words or racist words. Everyday words and phrases should not cause such anger.
Closed minds are not in our nation’s best interest. In fact, the free exchange of ideas is a building block of our freedom. We cannot have an exchange of ideas with closed minds. This does not mean we must surrender our principles or that our ideas are wrong. It simply means that we honestly try to understand another viewpoint and consider how our ideas and opinion can merge with ideas and opinions that we don’t necessarily like.





[1] I have been guilty of this and worsening matters by rolling my eyes.
[2] Oddly, many of these same people object to being criticized for being politically incorrect and suggest that pushing a person to speak a certain way is un-American.

Saturday, February 21, 2015

Time to Wake Up! Riot at Texas Prison Story is a great Example.

The recent riot at a Texas detention facility highlights many complicated and important problems.
First, the fact that the facility mainly housed illegal immigrants, as reported by Reuters on February 21, 2015 suggests that these people were tried and convicted of being on U.S. soil without authorization. If that is the case, it brings forth something that I have personally observed during the past 14 years of people recently deported to Mexico. I spoke with hundreds of the deportees and the majority told me that they intended to return to the United States as soon as possible. However, those that said they would not try to return to the United States, them said that they were imprisoned for being in the U.S. illegally and could hardly believe that they were put into a state jail for only being in the U.S. illegally. In other words, time in prison before deportation deters future attempts to re-enter the country. While this is only my personal observation, it suggest that our government should at least examine this possibility and if empirical data supports my suspicion, we have a real tool that deters illegal immigration. (This is only one possible tool. There are many others, including addressing the root causes of illegal immigration – which probably holds the most promise).

Second, the super-rich, giant corporations and politicians all benefit every time a story ignites anger about illegal immigration.[1] The Reuters story stated that the Management and Training Corporation (MTC) ran this prison facility.
Now let us look at what Reuters did not include in the story:

·         MTC has been the subject of controversies that included rape, nonpayment of salaries and other significant issues.

·         MTC is allied with the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC), which is described by Sourcewatch.org is a corporate bill mill. It is not just a lobby or a front group; it is much more powerful than that. Through ALEC, corporations hand state legislators their wish lists to benefit their bottom line. Corporations fund almost all of ALEC's operations. They pay for a seat on ALEC task forces where corporate lobbyists and special interest reps vote with elected officials to approve “model” bills.
 Most citizens have not even heard about ALEC and most believe that congress actually writes each bill that is considered for passage. In fact, ALEC hands politicians their ‘model bill’ and our representatives add their signatures. Why does all of this chicanery that feeds billions of our tax dollars into private hands? As Business Insider and others have pointed out, six corporations own 90% of the media[2]. The media pushes what I call ‘trigger word’ stories. These are stories that feed our personal biases and hatreds so we come to believe that a minority group, the conservatives, the liberals, a particular political party, the unions, etc. are the causes of our high taxes, overcrowded and underperforming schools, etc. While there is usually some truth in these beliefs, the real culprit are many of the super-rich, many of our corporations and many large banks and Wall Street manipulators.

Another reason the campaign to refocus our concern so we do not attack the true culprits of our nation’s greatest problems is that many of us feel so frustrated that we cannot do anything about the corruption (i.e. bank and corporate bail outs, Wall Street, big money controlling election outcomes). Although we may not know how to fight back, the first step is to at least recognize who and what we need to fight. If a ship is sinking, rearranging the deck chairs should not be our focus. We need to find out why and what can be done to save our own lives!

We cannot trust one news source. GOOGLE (although a giant Internet Corporation) provides very fast ways to explore stories. By entering a few words into GOOGLE it is easy and quick to examine other opinions. A simple ‘trick’ is to enter a name of a corporation, union or person and add the word ‘complaints’ to get a clearer picture. Don’t trust any single source and avoid trying to find a source that only confirms our original bias. Also, put numbers into context. This is especially true when trying to decide what changes in our budget would have a real effect. While saving a million of so by addressing welfare cheats is laudable, if every cheat was eliminated the impact on our budget would be negligible. Also remember that the biggest thieves in government and industry love to see blind patriotism.


[1] For that matter, the same is true when anger is triggered by stories about welfare cheats, and anything that suggests that a minority is responsible for our trillions of dollars of debt, poor schools, etc.
[2] Time Warner, Walt Disney, Viacom, Rupert Murdoch’s News Corp., CBS Corporation and NBC Universal. This does not even include Clear Channel that owns over 1,000 radio stations across the nation.

Saturday, February 7, 2015

The Internet, e-mail, websites, YouTube, social media, news websites and blogs make information easily available. A few minutes of inquiry via Google should make us the most informed people on earth. The problem is that this explosion of information did not make us searchers for the truth. Instead, we search for anything that supports our beliefs and anything that is gossip or about celebrities. We engage in fantasy. We forward e-mails that are hoaxes and become offended when shown proof that those emails are hoaxes.
Here are some real facts that most people seem to have missed.

  • Our Federal Government paid 2.6 million dollars to train Chinese prostitutes to drink responsibly on the job[1]. By the way, the study did not involve ethnic Chinese living in the United States. The study took place in China.
  • Taxpayers directly contributed $18,248,300 million to the Republican and Democratic national committees, or a total of $36.5 million, to hold their presidential nominating conventions in Election 2012. They gave similar amounts to the parties in 2008[2].
  • The Department of Agriculture spent $2 million to fund an internship program. The program hired one full-time intern.
  • Last year, $120 million was paid to dead federal employees. (In all fairness, sometimes it is hard to tell).
  • A total of $146 million was paid for federal employees to upgrade their flights to business class.
  • The government spent $2.6 million to encourage Chinese prostitutes to drink more responsibly.
  • The Department of Health and Human Services provided an $800,000 subsidy to build and IHop in Washington, D.C. (Google it! It is absolutely true).
  • The National Institutes of Health has given $1.5 million to Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston to study why “three-quarters” of lesbians in the United States are overweight and why most gay males are not.
  • During 2012, $25,000 of federal money was spent on a promotional tour for the Alabama Watermelon Queen.

•The U.S. government spent $505,000 “to promote specialty hair and beauty products for cats and dogs” last year.

•NASA spends close to $1 million per year developing a menu of food for a manned mission to Mars even though it is being projected that a manned mission to Mars is still decades away.

•Over the past 15 years, a total of approximately $5.25 million has been spent on hair care services for the U.S. Senate.

•The U.S. government spent $27 million to teach Moroccans how to design and make pottery in 2012.

•During fiscal 2012, the National Science Foundation gave researchers at Purdue University $350,000. They used part of that money to help fund a study that discovered that if golfers imagine that a hole is bigger it will help them with their putting.

•A total of $10,000 of U.S. taxpayer money was actually used to purchase talking urinal cakes in Michigan. (What did they say? Probably, "No! Please don't do it"!

•Vice President Joe Biden and his staff stopped in Paris for one night back in February.  The hotel bill for that one night came to $585,000.

•The U.S. Department of Agriculture has spent $300,000 to encourage Americans to eat caviar produced in Idaho.

•The National Institute of Health recently gave $666,905 to a group of researchers that is conducting a study on the benefits of watching reruns on television.

•The National Institute of Health also spent $592,527 on a study that sought to figure out once and for all why chimpanzees throw poop.

•The federal government spent $750,000 on a new soccer field for detainees held at Guantanamo Bay.

•The IRS spent $60,000 on a film parody of Star Trek and a film parody of Gilligan’s Island.

•Last year, the federal government spent $96,000 to buy iPads for kindergarten students in Maine.

•The U.S. government spent $200,000 on “a tattoo removal program” in Mission Hills, Calif.

•Last year, the government spent just under $1 million posting snippets of poetry in zoos around the country.

•The U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research spent $300,000 on a study that concluded the first bird on Earth probably had black feathers.

•The federal government spent $75,000 to promote awareness about the role Michigan plays in producing Christmas trees and poinsettias


[1] http://cnsnews.com/news/article/us-will-pay-26-million-train-chinese-prostitutes-drink-responsibly-job
[2] http://uspolitics.about.com/od/Political-Conventions/a/Taxpayers-On-The-Hook-For-Political-Conventions.htm

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Taxes and Class Warfare

During the 1950s and early 1960s, the top bracket income tax rate was over 90%--and the economy, middle-class, and stock market boomed[1]. Tax rates for the super-rich are lower than they have been in 50 years.

Those that scream ‘class warfare’ whenever someone remotely suggests a higher tax rate for the media (owned by the super-rich) are duping the super-rich. Although class warfare exists, it is the rich that declared war. Hundreds and in some case, thousands of workers make a company successful, yet the bulk of the profit never reaches the people doing the real work.

Is it a redistribution of wealth to tax the super-rich so that the real producers of wealth gain some benefit? Perhaps it is nothing more than a fairer form of capitalism.

Think about this when people argue that higher taxes will take away the incentive for company owners to expand.

A person with 20 million dollars of profit nets 13 million dollars after paying 35% in taxes. If this person invests in the business and show 25-million in profit, but pays 40% in taxes, he or she nets 15 million. Why would I not want to grow my business and pick up an additional 2 million dollars? Imagine, squeaking b on 15 million dollars a year! When taxes for the super-rich were at 90% new companies and investments thrived.

Think about another truth. The average working class American wanted a Federal Income Tax. The media sold us the idea of an income tax because the wealthy would be taxed while the worker would pay a relative small amount.

Think about another truth. How many wars were fought (at huge cost of life and treasure) to protect the wealthy companies whose foreign investments were in jeopardy? The same companies that outsource jobs rely on our military to protect their foreign operations. However, do not tax them.

Look at McDonalds. The average worker earns $14,600 per year and qualifies for government assistance (at taxpayer’s expense). The top five executives collectively receive over 24 million dollars per year!

Look at Wal-Mart and other businesses that encourage employees to apply for government assistance. Our tax dollars supplement Wal-Mart!

Close every loophole and increase the tax rate on the top 2 percent. Period.




[1] http://www.businessinsider.com/history-of-tax-rates-2012-5